The EMSA website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, in accordance with the EMSA privacy notice. Find out more on how we use cookies



Agency structure

The Agency is managed by an Executive Director whose duties and powers are defined in Article 15 of Regulation (EC) No 1406/2002. The Executive Director is directly supported by three Heads of Department, a policy advisor, a communications advisor, an accounting officer and an internal audit capability.

Currently, the Agency has 9 units, under 3 departments:

  • Department A: Corporate Services
    (Human Resources; Legal and Financial Affairs; Operations Support)

  • Department B: Safety and Standards
    (Visits and Inspections; Ship Safety; Marine Environment & Port State Control)

  • Department C: Operations
    (Integrated maritime services; vessel reporting services; earth observation services; and pollution response services)

EMSA Organisation Chart

org  chart